Цвет: C C C
Изображения Вкл.Выкл.
Обычная версия сайта
Demidov Yaroslavl State University

The Physics Faculty

The Physics Faculty of P.G. Demidov Yaroslavl State University was opened on July, 7 1976 by the order # 309 of the Minister of Higher and Secondary Education of the R.S.F.S.R. by dividing the Faculty of Physics and Mathematics into the Physics and Mathematics Faculties.

The Physics Faculty of P.G. Demidov Yaroslavl State University prepares specialists in the directions and specialities: Physics, Radiophysics and Electronics, Microelectronics and Semi-Conductor Devices, Telecommunications, Networks and Commutation Systems, Radio Engineering. The faculty contains five departments: the Department of General and Experimental Physics, the Department of Theoretical Physics, the Department of Radiophysics, the Department of Electronic Systems Dynamics, the Department of Microelectronics, the Laboratory for Mathematical Modelling of Physical Processes. The faculty prepares candidates and doctors of science in several specialities. A high quality of graduates’ education is guaranteed by a high qualification of the faculty’s teachers and scientists known for their achievements not only to Russian but also to the world scientific community.

The faculty’s graduates get a multi-discipline education and have good job opportunities in the areas requiring the ability to do interesting creative tasks and the skills of working in the team. Our graduates work at the plants, in organizations and companies specializing both in the areas of radiophysics, electronics and microelectronics, telecommunications, engineering in medical and biological practice, information technologies and in other areas, supposing a high-quality level of specialists.

Traditionally the Physics Faculty successfully develops both fundamental and applied researches. It does scientific research of complex and varied themes of the international level. Every year the number of articles increases, by the number of articles in foreign and national magazines the Physics Faculty constantly takes the first place among the university faculties.

The Department of Theoretical Physics specializes in the research area of high-energy physics, elementary particles theory, quantum field theory, astrophysics, solid-state theory. The distinguishing feature of scientific research of the Department of Theoretical Physics is their high scientific level, which allowed them to publish the research results in the leading foreign and national magazines (to 25 articles a year), and also in the form of a monograph published in the international publishing house Springer-Verlag. The department uses modern computer technologies in their research: analytical computing systems, international information networks and databases. The team of teachers and other staff of the department do research in several scientific projects funded by the Council for Russian Federation President's Grants for state support of young Russian scientists and for state support of advanced scientific schools of the Russian Federation, Russian Foundation for Basic Research, and according to scientific research plan of subjects of Yaroslavl University on the instructions of the Federal Agency on Education.

The main direction of scientific research of the Department of General Experimental Physics is nondestructive methods of control, magnetic phenomena physics, electron emission physics. Scientific interests of the department are closely connected with Yaroslavl Region enterprises, the Institute of Chemical Physics RAS, Moscow State University, Moscow Engineering Physics Institute, IM RAS and others. The department successfully does the research in solid-state physics, using Mossbauer methods, is engaged in applied aspects, surface physics. Cooperation of the department with IMRAS is especially fruitful. It includes joint fundamental research in plasma physics and surface physics.

The research of the Department of Radiophysics is connected with broad band signals shaping and processing. The main directions of research are: discrete and digital data processing systems, statistical radiophysics and interference immunity, radiophysical research methods. A wide range of research is provided by close creative cooperation with a number of leading research institutes and higher education institutions. The evidence of high scientific prestige of the scientific school of radiophysics collective is the establishment of the council for defending theses in Radio Engineering.

The main research directions of the Department of Electronic Systems Dynamics is the theory of oscillations of discrete and digital electronic systems, radio systems quality analysis, the issues of shaping, transmitting and studying radio signals, digital signals and images processing.

The main research direction of the Department of Microelectronics is studying electrophysical, photoelectric and optical characteristics of narrow-band-gap semiconductor materials for infrared optoelectronics. Another important direction is studying high Tc superconductivity in ceramic materials. A new scientific direction appeared – an integrated study of porous silicon’s properties and its practical application in science and engineering. The research is done together with the scientists of the Institute of Microelectronics and Information Science RAS (Yaroslavl), Physicotechnical Institute RAS (Moscow), MSU, LETI, ЕТН (Zurich) and other centers of micro- and nanoelectronics. In accordance with the state contract for doing work in the federal target programme “Integration” a specialization “Quantum Computing Systems” was opened within the framework of speciality Microelectronics and Semi-Conductor Devices.

More detailed information about the procedure of entering the Physics Faculty, academic curricula and courses on the corresponding speciality you can find at the Admission Commission and on the university web-site.